Legislative Council Approves 2022 Study Committee Bills

The Joint Legislative Council (JLC) recommends special committees to study major issues identified by the Wisconsin Legislature, typically during even-numbered years after the regular session has adjourned.  In April 2022, JLC established seven study committees consisting of legislators and members of the public. Those committees held hearings and developed policy recommendations.

On March 23, JLC met and voted to approve the following reports and draft legislation submitted by the study committees. The committee took a single unanimous vote (20-0) to approve most of the following items. Items that were approved less than unanimously, with several Democratic members dissenting, are noted in parentheses.

Commercial Building Permitting Process

Chair: Sen. Stroebel (R-Saukville)
Vice-Chair: Rep. Summerfield (R-Bloomer)

Increasing Offender Employment Opportunities

Chair: Sen. Felzkowski (R-Irma)
Vice-Chair: Rep. Schraa (R-Oshkosh)

Occupational Licenses

Chair: Sen. Stafsholt (R-New Richmond)
Vice-Chair Rep. Sortwell (R-Two Rivers)

Shared School District Services

Chair: Rep. Brooks (R-Saukville)
Vice-Chair: Sen. Feyen (R-Fond du Lac)

Removed from the agenda: LRB-570/1, relating to reimbursements to school districts and cooperative educational service agencies for the cost of writing federal and state grant applications and making an appropriation.

Uniform Death Reporting Standards

Chair: Sen. Ballweg (R-Markesan)
Vice-Chair: Rep. James (R-Altoona)

Wisconsin National Guard Sexual Misconduct Procedures

Chair: Rep. Tony Kurtz (R-Wonewoc)
Vice-Chair: Sen. Wimberger (R-Green Bay)

Special Committee on State-Tribal Relations

Chair: Rep. Mursau (R-Crivitz)
Vice-Chair: Sen. Bewley (D-Mason)