State Supreme Court Appoints New Chief Appellate Judge

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has announced the appointment of a new chief appellate judge and the reappointment of five chief circuit court judges, effective August 1. Judge William W. Brash, III has been appointed chief judge of the Wisconsin Court of Appeals, a position that oversees the entire four-district, 16-judge appellate court system in Wisconsin. Judge Brash, who serves on the District I Court of Appeals, is replacing Chief Judge Lisa S. Neubauer, who serves on the District II Court of Appeals and will have served the maximum of two three-year terms as chief judge.

The state supreme court has also decided to reappoint five of the chief circuit court judges that oversee Wisconsin’s nine judicial administrative districts:

  • District One: Chief Judge Mary E. Triggiano, Milwaukee County Circuit Court
  • District Three: Chief Judge Jennifer R. Dorow, Waukesha County Circuit Court
  • District Four: Chief Judge Barbara Key, Winnebago County Circuit Court
  • District Five: Chief Judge Thomas J. Vale, Green County Circuit Court
  • District Seven: Chief Judge Robert P. VanDeHey, Grant County Circuit Court

The following judges are currently serving as chief judges in the state’s remaining four districts:

  • District Two: Chief Judge Jason A. Rossell, Kenosha County Circuit Court
  • District Eight: Chief Judge James A. Morrison, Marinette County Circuit Court
  • District Nine: Chief Judge Gregory B. Huber, Marathon County Circuit Court
  • District Ten: Chief Judge Maureen D. Boyle, Barron County Circuit Court