Speaker Ryan Not Running for Re-election

U.S. House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Wisconsin) announced this week he will not run for re-election in November. Ryan said he will finish his term in the House and will stay on as Speaker for the remainder of the legislative session. Ryan was elected as the representative for Wisconsin’s 1st Congressional District in 1998. He has served as House Speaker since 2015.

In his announcement, Ryan highlighted several of his biggest achievements in Congress, including tax reform and rebuilding the military. Ryan also emphasized that he does not think his departure is a signal, nor will it affect, the outcomes for Republicans in the 2018 midterm elections in November.

With Ryan’s departure comes much speculation of who will run for his seat. The list of potential Republican state legislators has dwindled recently as Assembly Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester), Sen. Steve Nass (R-Whitewater), Rep. Tyler August (R-Lake Geneva), and Rep. Amy Loudenbeck (R-Clinton) have withdrawn their name from consideration. The state legislators who appear to be testing the waters include Sen. Dave Craig (R-Big Bend) and Rep. Samantha Kerkman (R-Salem). The open seat also could bring out additional Democrats to the primary as well.  Rep. Peter Barca (D-Kenosha) has said he is considering a run.