Legislative Study Committees Finalized

Each interim summer, the Wisconsin Legislative Council provides legal and policy support to the study committees established by the Joint Legislative Council. The Joint Legislative Council has finalized the 2016 legislative study committees. The final seven committees and corresponding chairs include:

  • Study Committee on Access to Civil Legal Services (Rep. Cody Horlacher, Chair and Sen. Duey Stroebel, Vice-Chair)
  • Study Committee on Preservation of Burial Sites (Rep. Amy Loudenbeck, Chair and Rep. Robert Brooks, Vice-Chair)
  • Study Committee on Publication of Government Documents and Legal Notices (Rep. John Spiros, Chair and Sen. Mark Miller, Vice-Chair)
  • Study Committee on Reducing Recidivism and Removing Impediments to Ex-Offender Employment (Sen. Alberta Darling, Chair and Rep. Rob Hutton, Vice-Chair)
  • Study Committee on Rural Broadband (Sen. Howard Marklein, Chair and Rep. Romaine Quinn, Vice-Chair)
  • Study Committee on School Data (Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt, Chair and Sen. Devin LeMahieu, Vice-Chair)
  • Study Committee on Volunteer Firefighter and Emergency Medical Technician Shortages (Sen. Stephen Nass, Chair and Rep. Jesse Kremer, Vice-Chair)

The Joint Legislative Council also established a Special Committee on State-Tribal Relations with Rep. Jeffrey Mursau as the Chair and Sen. Kathleen Vinehout as the Vice Chair.

The 2016 legislative study committees will begin meeting this summer and work into the fall. Typically, the work completed by the study committee results in recommended legislation for the following session. For example, this past session, several of the tax incremental financing (TIF) bills came out of the 2014-2015 Study Committee on the Review of Tax Incremental Financing.