Leadership Positions Announced for State Senate Committees

Just before the end of 2016, Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) announced leadership positions for the standing committees for the 2017-18 legislative session. The committees and their chairs largely remained the same. Fitzgerald shuffled a few chairs and committee names and added one new committee: Financial Services, Constitution and Federalism, chaired by Sen. David Craig (R-Big Bend).

Fitzgerald had previously announced in November that he would keep the same GOP members on the Joint Finance Committee. Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) will return as co-chair of the JFC, joined by returning vice-chair Sen. Luther Olsen (R-Berlin).

Sen. Dan Feyen (R-Fond du Lac) will replace Sen. Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg) as co-chair of the Joint Committee on Tax Exemptions. Feyen will also chair the Economic Development, Commerce and Local Government Committee.

Sen. Patrick Testin (R-Stevens Point) will replace Senate President Roger Roth (R-Appleton) as chair of the Workforce Development, Military Affairs and Senior Issues Committee. Testin will also replace Sen. Frank Lasee (R-De Pere) as co-chair of the Joint Committee on Retirement Systems.

Assembly Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) announced his committee picks in early December.

Below is a full listing of the 2017-18 leadership positions for Senate committees.


Senate Committee on Agriculture, Small Business and Tourism:

Chair: Sen. Moulton, Vice-Chair: Sen. Tiffany

Senate Committee on Education:

Chair: Sen. Olsen, Vice-Chair: Sen. Darling

Senate Committee on Economic Development, Commerce and Local Government:

Chair: Sen. Feyen, Vice-Chair: Sen. Petrowski

Senate Committee on Health and Human Services

Chair: Sen. Vukmir, Vice-Chair: Sen. Moulton

Senate Committee on Insurance, Housing and Trade

Chair: Sen. Lasee, Vice Chair: Sen. Olsen

Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

Chair: Sen. Cowles, Vice-Chair: Sen. Lasee

Senate Committee on Revenue, Financial Institutions and Rural Issues

Chair: Sen. Marklein, Vice-Chair: Sen. LeMahieu

Senate Committee on Sporting Heritage, Mining and Forestry

Chair: Sen. Tiffany, Vice-Chair: Sen. Testin

Senate Committee on Transportation and Veterans Affairs

Chair: Sen. Petrowski, Vice-Chair: Sen. Marklein

Senate Committee on Government Operations, Technology and Consumer Protection

Chair: Sen. Stroebel, Vice-Chair: Sen. Craig

Senate Committee on Universities and Technical Colleges

Chair: Sen. Harsdorf, Vice-Chair: Sen. Nass

Senate Committee on Public Benefit, Licensing and State-Federal Relations

Chair: Sen. Kapenga, Vice-Chair: Sen. Harsdorf

Senate Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform

Chair: Sen. Nass, Vice-Chair: Sen. Wanggaard

Senate Committee on Elections and Utilities

Chair: Sen. LeMahieu, Vice-Chair: Sen. Kapenga

Senate Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

Chair: Sen. Wanggaard, Vice-Chair: Sen. Craig

Senate Committee on Financial Services, Constitution and Federalism

Chair: Sen. Craig, Vice-Chair: Sen. Stroebel

Senate Committee on Workforce Development, Military Affairs and Senior Issues

Chair: Sen. Testin, Vice-Chair: Sen. Feyen

Senate Committee on Senate Organization

Chair: Sen. Fitzgerald

Senate Committee on Finance

Chair: Sen. Darling, Vice-Chair: Sen. Olsen

Senate Committee on Administrative Rules

Chair: Sen. Nass, Vice-Chair: Sen. LeMahieu

Joint Committee on Finance

Co-Chair: Sen. Darling, Vice-Chair: Sen. Olsen

Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules

Co-Chair: Sen. Nass

Joint Committee on Employment Relations

Co-Chair: Sen. Roth

Joint Committee on Information Policy and Technology

Co-Chair: Sen. Harsdorf

Joint Legislative Audit Committee
Co-Chair: Sen. Cowles

Joint Legislative Council

Co-Chair: Sen. Roth

Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties

Co-Chair: Sen. Wanggaard

Joint Committee on Legislative Organization

Co-Chair: Sen. Roth

Joint Survey Committee on Tax Exemptions

Co-Chair: Sen. Feyen

Joint Survey Committee on Retirement Systems

Co-Chair: Sen. Testin

Law Revision Committee

Co-Chair: Sen. Wanggaard

Building Commission

Sen. Moulton, Sen. Petrowski

Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation

Sen. Feyen



  • Error: Could not authenticate you.