Latest Resignations from the Wisconsin Legislature

Sen. Dave Craig (R-Big Bend) is the latest legislator to announce he will not run for reelection in November. Craig was elected to the Assembly in May 2011 and moved to the Senate in 2016.

Former Senate Majority Leader Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse), who had previously announced she would not run for reelection and resigned from her leadership position, resigned from her 32nd Senate District seat effective May 15. Shilling’s announcement said she will “explore career opportunities” but she has not publicly announced her future plans.

Sen. Tom Tiffany (R-Minocqua) also resigned shortly after winning the special election for Wisconsin’s 7th Congressional District earlier in May.

Out of the 16 Senate seats up in November, there are now seven open, with four Democrats and three Republicans retiring. The Senate currently sits at a 19 to 14 Republican majority.

 On the Assembly side, there will be 11 open seats, with five Democrats and six Republicans retiring this year.

Previously announced legislative retirements.