Fitzgerald, Vos, Shilling Announce JFC Members

GOP legislative leaders officially chose who will lead the all-powerful Joint Committee on Finance (JFC) through next session’s budget process.

Despite being amid a recount, Sen. Minority Leader Shilling (D-La Crosse) announced today her reappointment of Sens. Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee) and John Erpenbach (D-Middleton) to the JFC.

On Dec. 1, Assembly Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) announced he plans to add Reps. Mark Born (R-Beaver Dam) and Mike Rohrkaste (R-Neenah) to the committee and remove Rep. Michael Schraa (R-Oshkosh). There was one vacant spot due to the retirement of Rep. Dean Knudson (R-Hudson).

Prior to Thanksgiving, Vos announced that Rep. John Nygren (R-Marinette) will remain co-chair. Also, returning to the committee is vice-chair Rep. Dale Kooyenga (R-Brookfield), Rep. Amy Loudenbeck (R-Clinton) and Rep. Mary Czaja (R-Irma).

Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) announced in November that he would keep the same GOP members on the JFC next session. Sen. Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) will return as co-chair of the JFC, joined by returning vice-chair Sen. Luther Olsen (R-Berlin). Sens. Sheila Harsdorf (R-River Falls); Leah Vukmir, (R-Brookfield); Thomas Tiffany (R-Hazelhurst); and Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green), will also keep their seats on the committee.

There are still two spots left on the JFC, as Democratic Assembly leaders have not yet appointed their committee members.

Full committee assignments are expected soon.