Fitzgerald Announces Committee Reassignments

Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald has announced that he has disbanded the Senate Committee on Education Reform and created the Senate Committee on Public Benefit and Regulatory Reform. Sen. Fitzgerald states that he made the changes to the standing committees to reflect changes in Senate membership, particularly the recent election of Senator Chris Kapenga.

Members of the Senate Committee on Public Benefit and Regulatory Reform include:

  • Senator Chris Kapenga (R), chair
  • Senator Sheila Harsdorf (R), vice-chair
  • Senator Stephen Nass (R)
  • Senator Nikiya Harris-Dodd (D)
  • Senator Mark Miller (D)

Sen. Kapenga, the chair of the newly formed committee, said in a press release that he looks forward to “developing innovative reforms that put individuals on the path to self-sufficency.”

As of this writing, no bills have been submitted to the committee and there are no scheduled meetings.

Sen. Kapenga will also serve as vice chair on the Senate Committee on Elections and Local Government, and as a member of the Senate Committee on Government operations and Consumer Protection.