UPDATED: Evers Announces First Cabinet Picks

Governor-elect Tony Evers has announced the first members of his cabinet as he prepares to take office in January. On Dec. 21, Evers announced several new appointees to his cabinet.

Evers announced Rebecca Cameron Valcq as Chair of the Public Service Commission. Valcq is currently a partner at Quarles & Brady and previously worked as attorney for WE Energies.

Craig Thompson, executive director of the Wisconsin Transportation Development Association, will take over as Department of Transportation secretary.

Evers’s Commissioner of Insurance will be Mark Afable, who has worked at American Family Insurance as chief legal officer and executive vice president.

Brad Pfaff, deputy chief of staff for U.S. Rep Ron Kind (D-La Crosse), will become secretary of the Department of Trade, Agriculture & Consumer Protection.

Evers had previously announced the following appointments on Dec. 19:

Evers selected Joel Brennan, CEO of Discovery World in Milwaukee, as his Department of Administration secretary.

Preston Cole will be the secretary of the Department of Natural Resources. Cole is currently a commissioner of the Milwaukee Department of Neighborhood Services and a member of the Wisconsin Natural Resources Board.

U.S. Marshal Kevin Carr will take over as secretary of the Department of Corrections. Before being sworn in as marshal, Carr worked with Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Office.

Sara Meany, chief marketing officer for Milwaukee Film, was tapped as the new Department of Tourism secretary.

Meanwhile, Evers has continued to build up his transition team by adding several policy councils. Evers and Lt. Governor-elect Mandela Barnes are also traveling the state holding public listening sessions to discuss the upcoming 2019-21 state budget.

The policy advisory councils include:

Evers has also announced the co-chairs for his Inauguration Committee. Evers will be sworn in as governor on Jan. 7.

Click here for more information on Evers’s transition team.