Election Update: State Supreme Court and Special Election

Special Election for the 20th Senate District

The 20th Senate District senate seat will remain vacant as of now, as Congressman Glenn Grothman (R) resigned from the seat shortly before being elected to Congress this January. The governor called a special election for the seat to align with the spring election. Candidates for the 20th Senate District were required submit nomination papers in December to make it on the ballot.

On the ballot will be three Republican candidates: Tiffany Koehler of Slinger (R), former State Representative and 6th Congressional District candidate Duey Stroebel of Saukville, and Lee Schlenvogt of Port Washington. With only three Republican candidates and no Democrats, the special primary on February 17th will be the results to watch for.


Election for State Supreme Court Justice

This spring one spot on the Wisconsin Supreme Court is open for election and final nomination papers for candidates were filed at the end of December. The two candidates for the seat, which has a 10-year term, will be incumbent Justice Ann Walsh Bradley of Wausau and Rock County Circuit Court Judge James Daley of Janesville.

Justice Ann Walsh Bradley has served on the state supreme court since 1995. Prior to serving on the state’s highest court, Justice Bradley practiced law in Wausau and served as a circuit court judge in Marathon County. Before law school, she was a high school teacher in La Crosse.

Judge James Daley was appointed circuit court judge by Governor Tommy Thompson in January of 1989 after serving three terms as Rock County District Attorney. He was re-elected three times to the bench and has been the presiding judge in Rock County since 1998. The Wisconsin Supreme Court appointed Daley Chief Judge of the 5th Judicial Circuit in August of 2013.

The election for state supreme court justice will be held on Tuesday, April 7, 2015. There will be no primary as races for the Wisconsin Supreme Court are non-partisan.