Election Update: 20th Senate District and Waukesha County Exec

State-wide primary elections were held in mid-February, deciding many mayoral candidates and referenda across the state. The two elections to follow on the state level were the special primary election for the 20th Senate District, and the primary for Waukesha county executive.

The seat for the 20th Senate District is currently vacant because the predecessor, Glenn Grothman, is now the U.S. representative for the 6th Congressional District. In the special primary election, former Representative Duey Stroebel won the Republican spot on the ticket. Stroebel’s opponents included Lee Schlenvogt, who had 23% of the vote, and Tiffany Koehler, who had 9% of the vote; Stroebel won with a landslide 68%. This past summer, Stroebel lost to U.S. Rep. Grothman in the primary for the 6th Congressional District this past summer. Duey Stroebel will likely be elected as the next senator for the 20th Senate District, as there is only one write-in candidate registered for the general election in April.

Also during the February election, Senator Paul Farrow (R) won the Waukesha County Executive four-way primary. If Sen. Farrow beats his democratic opponent, Lee Schellinger, which is expected in the conservative-heavy county, another special primary will likely be held to fill the 33rd Senate District seat.