2022 Election Results

Based on available results as of Wednesday, November 9, 2022 at 10:30 AM.

United States Senate

Republican U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson (50.5 percent) won a third six-year term, defeating Democratic challenger Lt. Gov. Mandela Barnes (49.5 percent).


Democratic Gov. Tony Evers (51.2 percent) defeated Republican challenger Tim Michels (47.8 percent). Evers’ running-mate Rep. Sara Rodriguez (D-Brookfield) will serve as the state’s next lieutenant governor.

Attorney General

Incumbent Democrat Josh Kaul (50.7 percent) defeated the Republican challenger, Fond du Lac DA Eric Toney (49.3 percent), to win a second term.

Secretary of State

Incumbent Democrat Doug La Follette (48.3 percent) appears to have narrowly defeated Republican challenger Rep. Amy Loudenbeck (48.1 percent), Libertarian candidate Neil Harmon (2.1 percent), and Green Party candidate Sharyl McFarland (1.6 percent), winning a twelfth term as secretary of state by less than 7,000 votes.

State Treasurer

Republican candidate John Leiber (49.7 percent) defeated Democratic candidate Aaron Richardson (48.1 percent) and Constitution Party candidate Andrew Zuelke (2.2 percent) in an open race. Incumbent Treasurer Sarah Godlewski ran in the Democratic primary for U.S. Senate.

State Senate

Before (2021-22 Session)
Republicans: 21
Democrats: 12

After (2023-24 Session)
Republicans: 22
Democrats: 11

As of 10:30 AM on 11/9/2022, incumbent Democrat Jeff Smith appeared to have narrowly defeated Republican challenger David Estenson in Senate District 31.

Prior to the election, Republicans controlled the 33-member chamber with 21 members. The Senate’s 17 odd-numbered seats were up for election this cycle. Four Republicans and three Democrats did not seek reelection. Republicans won five open seats and retained all seven incumbents for a net gain of one seat, or 22 members. This constitutes a two-thirds majority that could be used to override a governor’s veto.

State Assembly

Before (2021-22 Session)
Republicans: 61
Democrats: 38

After (2023-24 Session)
Republicans: 64
Democrats: 35

As of 10:30AM on 11/9/2022, several races remained very close with some votes still to be counted.

Prior to the election, Republicans controlled the 99-member chamber with 61 members. All 99 seats were up for election this cycle, while 14 Republicans and 11 Democrats did not seek reelection. Republicans appear to have won a net gain of three seats and will not secure a two-thirds or “veto-proof” majority.

Assembly Speaker Robin Vos (73 percent) easily beat two write-in challengers, Republican Adam Steen and Democrat Joel Jacobsen (combined 27 percent). Vos, a nine-term Republican incumbent, narrowly defeated Steen in the 2022 primary election and easily defeated Jacobsen in the 2018 and 2020 general elections.

Next Steps

Winning candidates will be officially sworn in on Inauguration Day next year, Tuesday, January 3. The legislative caucuses will meet soon to elect their leadership for the 2023-24 session. Those leaders will distribute committee assignments among their members. Because Republicans control each house, they will select committee chairs and will have a majority of the members on each committee.

For more information about the 2022 elections in Wisconsin, visit the following pages: