2021-22 Joint Finance Committee Membership Announced

The powerful budget-writing Joint Committee on Finance (JCF) has new chairs on both the Senate and Assembly side for the first time in over a decade. Sen. Howard Marklein (R – Spring Green) will take the gavel for the Senate majority after Sen. Alberta Darling (R – River Hills) steps aside.

Joining Sen. Marklein on the committee will be returning JCF member Sen. Duey Stroebel (R – Saukville). The Senate members also include Sen. Dale Kooyenga (R – Brookfield and Sen. Kathy Bernier (R – Chippewa Falls). Also joining the committee will be newly-elected Senators (previous Assembly representatives) Sen.-elect Joan Ballweg (R – Markesan) and Sen.-elect Mary Felzkowski (R – Irma). On the Democrat side, both Sens. Jon Erpenbach (D – West Point) and LaTonya Johnson (D – Milwaukee) will return for the minority.

Earlier this month, long-time chair Rep. John Nygren (R – Marinette) resigned from the legislature this week to purse a private-sector opportunity. Immediately filling the role of Assembly JCF Chair is Rep. Mark Born (R – Beaver Dam). Rep. Amy Loudenbeck (R – Clinton) will come back as vice chair, joined by returning members Rep. Shannon Zimmerman (R – River Falls) and Rep. Terry Katsma (R – Oostburg). The two newest members include Rep. Jessie Rodriguez (R – Oak Creek) and Rep. Tony Kurtz (R – Wonewoc).

On the Democratic side, Rep. Evan Goyke (D – Milwaukee) will return to the committee, joined by Rep. Greta Neubauer (D – Racine).