Trump Wins Wisconsin, State Senate and Assembly Republicans Maintain Majorities

Presidential Results

Donald Trump swept key swing states and won Wisconsin, 48 percent to 47 percent. He is the first Republican to carry the state since Ronald Reagan in 1984. Trump received a total of 276 electoral votes, while Hillary Clinton picked up 218.

Libertarian candidate Gary Johnson won no states, but picked up 3.6 percent of the Wisconsin vote and 3.3 percent nationally. Green Party candidate Jill Stein won no states, but picked up 1.1 percent of the Wisconsin vote and 1 percent nationally.

U.S. Senate Results

Republican Sen. Ron Johnson won the Wisconsin U.S. Senate race by a comfortable 3 percent margin. Challenger Russ Feingold was expected to win, but Johnson tightened the race in the final stretch to win 50 to 47 percent. Johnson’s win helped the Republicans win the majority in the U.S. Senate, with 51 seats.

U.S. Congressional Results

Across the country, Republicans fared well, only losing 7 seats to Democrats. Overall Republicans will have a 235 to 191 majority in Congress. Wisconsin incumbents all held their seats, and Republican Mike Gallagher won the open 8th District (Green Bay) seat.

As expected, House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Janesville) kept his seat against Democratic challenger Ryan Solen with 65 percent of the vote.

Rep. Mark Pocan maintained his Congressional seat in the Madison district against challenger Peter Theron with 69 percent of the vote.

Republican Mike Gallagher won the open 8th Congressional seat (Green Bay area) against Democrat Tom Nelson by a margin of 26 percent. While the race initially began as close, Gallagher was favored close to election day.

Reps. Ron Kind (D-La Crosse/Eau Claire), Gwen Moore (D-Milwaukee), Jim Sensenbrenner (R-Washington/Jefferson counties), Glenn Grothman (R-Green Bay) and Sean Duffy (R-northwestern/central counties) kept their seats.

 Wisconsin Assembly Results

State Assembly returned all their incumbents and knocked off one Democrat, Chris Danou as they increase their majority to 64-35.

Republican Robert Stafsholt won the open 29th Assembly District (St. Croix/Dunn) by a margin of 22 percent.

In one of the most-watched Wisconsin state races this season, Republican Ed Brooks defeated Democrat Arthur Shrader to keep his 50th Assembly District (Reedsburg/Mauston) seat by a margin of 16 percent.

In the 51st Assembly District (Iowa/Lafayette Counties), Republican Todd Novak kept his seat against Democrat Jeff Wright by a margin of 2 percent.

Republican Rob Summerfield won the normally Democratic open 67th Assembly District (Chippewa Falls) seat by a margin of 28 percent.

Republican Pat Snyder beat Democrat Mandy Wright in the rematch of the 85th Assembly District (Wausau) by a margin of 6 percent.

Wisconsin Senate Results

Republicans increased their majority by at least 1, from 19-14 to 20-12, with one race still too close to call. Republicans won the open 18th Senate District and knocked off longtime Democratic incumbent Julie Lassa. There is likely to be a recount in Senate Minority Leader Shilling’s race against former state Sen. Dan Kapanke.

In incumbent Sen. Rob Cowles’s (R-Green Bay) first election facing an opponent since his 2011 recall election Cowles beat Democratic challenger John Powers to win the 2nd Senate District seat by a margin of 30 percent.

In the closely-watched race for the late Sen. Rick Gudex’s (R-Fond du Lac) open seat, Republican Daniel Feyen maintained Republican control of the Senate District 18 seat by a margin of 12 percent.

Sen. Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse) in the unofficial canvas beat challenger Dan Kapanke by 58 votes. Over 82,000 votes were cast in the Shilling-Kapanke race and it appears to be headed for a recount.

Republican Patrick Testin won 52 percent of the vote in the 24th District, beating Democratic incumbent Julie Lassa. With the pick of that seat, Republicans would hold 20-12 majority in the Senate (with the Shilling-Kapanke race to be determined).

Click here for full 2016 election results and for additional coverage visit our 2016 Election issue update page.